The Dorrys – Drama

The Dorrys honor the best in the past year’s theatre, or more specifically any theatre that first appeared in Rhode Island or a border town between August 1, 2015 and July 31, 2016.


Now COME TO THE DORRIES! Hear the winners announced live, stand in a room full of nominees, and be surprised by how much you didn’t even know there was to offer here in Rhode Island.

Production of the Year
Before We Begin (Strange Attractor)
Day of Absence (Mixed Magic Theatre)
Dry Land (Wilbury Group)
Frost/Nixon (CounterProductions)
Happy Birthday Old Faithful: The National Park Plays (Manton Avenue Project)
Happy Birthday Wanda June (Burbage Theatre Company)
The Hunchback of Seville (Trinity Rep)
Island of Love (Tenderloin Opera Company)
The Love of the Nightingale (Brown/Trinity Rep)
The Road Weeps, The Well Runs Dry (Brown University Theatre)

Performance of the Year (Lead)
Marianna Bassham as Blanche in A Streetcar Named Desire (Gamm)
Tammy Brown as Rita in Educating Rita (2nd Story)
Phyllis Kay as Maxima Terrible Segundo in The Hunchback of Seville (Trinity Rep)
Crystal Kim as Mary South in The Road Weeps, The Well Runs Dry (Brown University Theatre)
Evan Kinnane as Harold in Harold and Maude (2nd Story)
Christopher Shane Crider-Plonka as David Frost in Frost/Nixon (Counter-Productions)

Performance of the Year (Supporting)
Karen Carpenter as Stella in A Streetcar Named Desire (Gamm)
Rebecca Gibel as Ado Annie in Oklahoma! (Trinity Rep)
Emeline Herreid as Wanda June in Happy Birthday, Wanda June (Burbage)
Dana Hunter as Anita in West Side Story (Theatre By The Sea)
Anne Scurria as Espanta in The Hunchback of Seville (Trinity Rep)
Nicole Villamil as Infanta Juana in The Hunchback of Seville (Trinity Rep)

Director of the Year
Kevin Broccoli, American Strippers (Epic Theater Company)
Michael Ducharme, Frost/Nixon (Counter-Productions)
Taibi Magar, The Hunchback of Seville (Trinity Rep)
Kym Moore, The Road Weeps, The Well Runs Dry (Brown)
Wendy Overly, Happy Birthday Wanda June (Burbage)
Mark Peckham, Stupid Fucking Bird (Wilbury Group)

Season of the Year
Epic Theater Company (Kevin Broccoli)
Trinity Rep (Curt Columbus)
Mixed Magic Theater (Jonathan Pitts-Wiley)
2nd Story Theatre (Ed Shea)
Wilbury Group (Josh Short)
Manton Avenue Project (Meg Sullivan)

Production Team of the Year (for sets, lighting and costumes)
Animal Farm (Epic Theatre Company)
Damn Yankees (Ocean State Theatre)
Dangerous Corner (2nd Story Theatre)
The Hunchback of Seville (Trinity Rep)
Mr. Burns (Brown University Theatre)
Stupid Fucking Bird (Wilbury Group)

Play of the Year
(awarded to a playwright)
Andy Boyd, The Trade Federation
Kevin Broccoli, Total Strangers
Diane Exavier, A Big House
Andy Hoover, Narragansett Valkyrie
Nikteha Salazar, The Red Paint
Lenny Schwartz, The Social Avenger

Touring Production of the Year
Roundabout Theatre Company, Cabaret
Strange News, db
Total War Puppets, Fire With Fire
Salzburg Marionette Theatre, Peter and the Wolf/ Little Red Riding Hood
Company One, We’re Gonna Die

Curveball of the Year
(for a show that ran for a single performance or weekend)
Gelsey Bell and Erik Ruin, Prisoner’s Song (Everett)
Christopher Johnson and Elizabeth Keiser, Ask Asha (AS220)
Mixed Magic Theatre, A Dramatic Reading of Martin Luther King’s Letter From Birmingham City Jail
Strange Attractor and Lightning Rod Special, Sans Everything (AS220)
Tenderloin Opera Company, Island of Love
Trinity Rep, Every 28 Hours